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STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

The list below constitutes frequently asked questions about the Nonpublic Textbook Program. This
page will be updated with frequently asked questions and answers on a continual basis.

Questions About Applying

1. Question: Our school doesn't participate in the Free and Reduced Price Meals
program. How do we know how many students at our school qualify?
Answer: Whether you participate or not, you must use the FARMs income guidelines to
determine how many students would qualify. Your school may collect family income data
if your school offers financial assistance. If not, you could survey your families to
determine their income. If your school participates in USDA's Direct Certification program
with Medicaid, you may use that data, as well. If you have no other way of determining
how many students in your school qualify for FARMs, then you should just enter “O" for
that line in the application.

2. Question: We were approved last year. Do we have to reapply?
Answer: Yes, you have to apply every year.

3. Question: I'm a child care provider. Am I still eligible?
Answer: Not necessarily. The guidelines for eligibility have changed since last year. This
year, only child care providers who are operating an approved Pre-K education program
for students aged 2 — 4 years old are eligible. If you're not sure, send us an email at
nptextbook.msde@maryland.gov or contact your regional licensing office for information.
To apply to operate an approved education program, click here for the application.

4. Question: Our school has several different tuition rates. What should we enter in our
application?
Answer: Calculate your average tuition rate. Add all your rates together and divide by the
number of different rates. Enter that figure in the application.

For example:

Your school offers three different full-time tuition rates. Add them together, then divide
by 3. Report the average.

$8,750 annual tuition + $10,000 annual tuition + $12,500 annual tuition = $31,250

$31,250 + 3 = $10,417 average tuition

5. Question: The application asks for our advance link #. What’s that?
Answer: It's a unique number assigned to all nonpublic schools by the Nonpublic School
Approval Branch. It looks like this: 09-00-1234.

6. Question: From what year should we enter student enroliment data?
Answer: Use the figures for the current school year (2023-2024).
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7. Question: Can we submit a request to be reimbursed for books we’ve already
purchased?
Answer: No, this program does not reimburse schools. We order the items on your behalf.

8. Question: What language must be included in our student handbook?
Answer: The non-discrimination language from Education Article §26-704 must be
included, verbatim. See below:

“It is the policy of the State of Maryland that all public and publicly funded schools and school
programs operate in compliance with:
(1) Title VI of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964; and
(2) Title 26, Subtitle 7 of the Education Article of the Maryland Code, which states
that public and publicly funded schools and programs may not:
(i) Discriminate against a current student, a prospective student, or the parent or guardian of
a current or prospective student on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, religion, sex, age,
national origin, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability;
(i) Refuse enrollment of a prospective student, expel a current student, or withhold
privileges from a current student, a prospective student, or the parent or guardian of a
current or prospective student because of an individual's race, ethnicity, color, religion, sex,
age, national origin, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability; or
(iii) Discipline, invoke a penalty against, or take any other retaliatory action against a student
or parent or guardian of a student who files a complaint alleging that the program or school
discriminated against the student, regardless of the outcome of the complaint.”.

9. Question: We are a special education school, registered under COMAR 13A.09.10. Are
we eligible to apply?
Answer: Yes!

10.Question: If we made the changes last year in our handbook, do we need to upload it
in the application?
Answer: Yes.

11. Question: | have a question about the Nonpublic Aging Schools Program (NASP). Who
should | contact?
Answer: Contact Myron Mason (myron.mason@maryland.gov), or, visit the_ NASP

webpage.

12.Question: | need to change the email address on our application. How can | do that?
Answer: Send an email to nptextbook.msde@maryland.gov. We'll contact our web
developer to get your email changed. This may take up to 72 hours to correct.

13. Question: If we're approved for this program, does this mean our school can
participate in BOOST?
Answer: It's true that schools must first be approved in the Nonpublic Textbook program
in order to be eligible to participate in BOOST. We recommend that you review the
information on the BOOST webpage for additional information about requirements and
eligibility.
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Questions About Ordering
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Question: Can funds be used for teacher support material?
Answer: Yes, we will fund teacher manuals and licenses provided that they accompany
student books and licenses.

Question: | submitted my order, but it's been sitting in the “Request to MSDE” step.
What's going on?

Answer: We typically review orders within 48 business hours of when you enter them. If
it's still sitting there, we probably sent it back to you to fix and resubmit. Check your email
for a notification from noreply.msde@maryland.gov to see whether there's a problem
with your order.

Question: Do we need to put stickers on the items purchased through this program?
Answer: No, but we can certainly send you some stickers if you'd like. You should keep an
inventory of the items, though. Here is an inventory form you can use.

Question: Do we have to enter each book on a line? Or, can we just put “see quote”?
Answer: You have to enter each book on a separate line.

Question: Is there a maximum number of lines?
Answer: Yes, you can enter no more than 150 lines per order

Question: Are we allowed to place an order from one vendor early in the window, and
then come back later to place orders from other vendors?
Answer: Yes! The ordering window will be open from February 1 - April 15, 2024.

Question: How long does it typically take to receive items from the vendors?
Answer: It's best to reach out to the vendor to ask about their delivery time.

Question: It's been more than a couple weeks, and we haven't received our items yet.
What should we do?

Answer: If your order is sitting in the “Ordered to Vendor” step, then MSDE already sent it
to them. At this point, we recommend you reach out to the vendor to get an update.

Question: If the items we initially ordered are on back-order, what can we do?
Answer: You have until June 30, 2024 to find a replacement. Get a quote from the vendor
for a replacement item that is similar in type and price. Then, send an email to
nptextbook.msde@maryland.gov with your request.

Question: Can we dispose of old items we’ve ordered through this program?
Answer: Yes, but you have to report disposal by completing an asset disposal form. No
need to include disposal of consumables (glue, pencils, workbooks, etc.)



mailto:noreply.msde@maryland.gov
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https://marylandpublicschools.org/about/Documents/DBS/NonpublicTextbook/AssetDisposalForm.zip

24. Question: The vendor’s quote includes a discount. How should | account for this
when | submit a new order?
Answer: The vendor should be able to discount the price of the items. Enter the
discounted price.

25. Question: For how long should we keep inventory of items?
Answer: For 3 years.

26. Question: Can you provide some examples of allowable and unallowable items?
Answer: Sure!

Allowable: Unallowable:

textbooks interactive white boards
workbooks televisions

leveled readers playground equipment
curriculum kits software for teacher or parent use
classroom library books furniture

tablets rugs

laptops laminating machines
headphone sets printers

puzzles tables & chairs
manipulatives storage items
microscopes play kitchens

math block sets large doll houses
licenses to learning websites office supplies

yoga mats clothing

instruments group board games
magna tiles large robotic equipment, etc.
dolls of community helpers

sensory objects

costumes for imaginative play

shape sorters

consumables

flash cards

counters

calculators

robotic kits for students, etc.
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